Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP)

Last Updated: 28 July 2021

The Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) was first introduced in 1967. Since then it has helped Canada welcome talent from all over the world. Today the FSWP forms the backbone to evaluate candidates who need to immigrate to Canada.

The Canadian government introduced the points-based system to select immigrants. Candidates are evaluated based on six selection factors, education, language skills, age, work experience, occupation, adaptability; ability to establish themselves economically and other factors.

What it takes to be eligible for the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP)

If one wants to immigrate to Canada, you have to meet the minimum requirements for the program:

  • If you studied outside Canada, you need to get an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) report for your educational qualification or Canadian educational credential (certificate, diploma, or degree) if completed your studies in Canada.
  • One year of full-time paid work experience in the past 10 years in a skilled occupation classified under the  National Occupational Classification (NOC) skill level 0, A or B;
  • Language ability test which should be equivalent to a minimum Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 in English or French across all 4 abilities (speaking, writing, reading and listening);
  • You also must show you have enough money for you and your family to settle in Canada

In order to be eligible to apply under the Federal Skilled Worker Program, candidates must meet the minimum requirements for education, language, and work and obtain at least 67 points under the program’s 100-point gridThis is called the SIX SELECTION FACTORS GRID, this grid assesses candidates based on the below factors:

FactorsMaximum Points
Arranged Employment10
Language Skills28
Work Experience15

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) will determine the candidates’ eligibility for the Federal Skilled Worker Program based on the above SIX SELECTION FACTORS. Candidates are then given a Comprehensive Ranking Score (CRS) and entered into the Express Entry pool. Candidates with the highest CRS in the Express Entry pool are issued invitations to apply for Canadian permanent residence.

How the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) works?

Check your eligibility criteria against the SIX SELECTION FACTORS. If you meet it, proceed to the next step.
Get a language test for English or French from designated by Canadian authorities. Score the minimum CLB7. Get an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA), for foreign degrees/diplomas.
Create your Express Entry profile on the Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) website.
Wait to receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) for Permanent Residence. Once you receive the ITA you can apply for Permanent Residence.